Post processing and DOF issues

Seventen

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I have been attempting post processing a little and wondered what i should look for when im doing it. Currently i do the levels everytime i move the black to the start of the highest peak and move the white to the end of it, The middle marker i move very slightly to get the effect i like.
I also sometimes use the blend tool by opening a new layer putting the mode in overlay and using black.
I have tried unsharp mask but failed been watching videos and reading how to use it but never works out. (practice makes perfect here)
and cropping the images if they need it.
Thats about all i have done with post processing. what else could i be looking out for here? I am very new to photography so even the simplest answer is most welcomed.

On to the depth of field problem, It hasnt really been a big issue until yesterday when i was taking pictures of berries about 4 or 5 would be very sharp and the rest of the berries and leaves totally blurry should i be using a special metering for this? (also very unsure which metering i should use and when) or is it to do which the aperture i was using? most shots was between 3.5 and 5.6. then i thought i would make a really nice picture with this huge gathering of snails 1 was sharp the rest felt like i was walking of a theme park ride.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, welcome to the forum. YOu could try posting some pictures here to give an example of what you are doing. Maybe a before and after so people can give you some direct feedback.