Predicting good sunrise/sunset conditions for landscape photography

Destin

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, @SquarePeg asked me in another of my threads how I go about predicting good sunrise/sunset conditions for my landscape photography. Rather than reply in that thread where it would get lost and not help many people, I decided to create a new thread for it.

This thread is an open forum. I'll share how I personally go about doing this, but I would absolutely love to learn how other people are doing it as well. I'm far from an expert. Let's all gain some knowledge here!

I have two ways of doing this, and I'll detail both of them below:

1.) MySunset App. This is the lazy way, but the one I use most often because it takes less effort. I have the pro version of this ($9.99/year) and it gives you it's calculated odds of a colorful/beautiful sunrise/sunset for your current locations as well as whatever locations you've saved. It rates the odds on a perfect basis, with 0% being no chance and 100% being certainty. You can even set limits for each location and get notified when the odds are high, which is helpful but gets annoying fast if you have a lot of saved locations.

My experience with this is that when it gives you a high percentage, it's nearly always accurate and you get some color in the sky. However, there are frequently colorful skies that it misses, so I never use it to rule out a colorful sunrise/set, only to rule one in. This is important, because otherwise you'll miss opportunities. In scientific terms, it has a high sensitivit but a poor specificity.