Pricing prints and how to present them

CanonInDS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I will be the photographer in residence at a wildlife refuge this upcoming August. The refuge is providing housing for a month where I vacation at no charge. They have asked me to bring my work to the refuge gift shop to display for sale. I am new to selling my work. Is there a site with a list of the going rates for various size prints? Do most of you sell just the prints, or do you mount and matte them first? Thanks for you time.

Dave

Welcome to the forum.

I don't think you'll find a 'standard' for something like this. The prices are whatever you (or the shop) can get away with, without being so expensive than nobody buys them.
I've seen a whole range of prices...and usually the price depends on where it's being sold, with the highest prices being found in little shops in touristy areas.
There is usually a wide range of different print products as well; post cards, paper prints, mounted prints, matted prints, posters, framed prints etc. Not to mention all sorts of trinkets like key chains, coasters, mouse pads, calenders & coffee mugs.

I'm guessing that most of the stuff that I'm thinking of, doesn't come direct from the photographer though. It's probably handled by a stock photo or publishing company etc.
But in the case where the photographer/artists is actually providing the work, I'm thinking it should be something nice & big, like a large print, signed & framed.

Of course, it depends on the size/stature of the shop and the refuge. You probably won't sell many huge framed prints at a small refuge in a poor area without a lot of tourists.

I guess you could ask them what has been done/sold in the past and what works best for them in that location. Maybe take a look at other gift type shops and see what photos are going for and what type of presentations are being offered.