pricing question -- urgent!

laurenc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! I've been perusing this forum for awhile and am ready to make my debut with a question I know has been posed a million times (but in a million different ways); I'm hoping someone out there might be able to help, as I don't know anyone in person to ask.

I'm an up-and-coming photographer trying to break into the business. I've shot stills for two films: one student short unpaid, and one indie feature paid (but not much). I've also done a variety of freelance work for free including two weddings, promotional shots for a few friends' bands, and some boring shots for my university's brochure/annual report.

I've been approached to take photos for a beginning event planner; the first event is for 2 hours tomorrow night and it's a birthday party at a hotel. Her email says she can't pay much but is willing to cover food/booze. The other event is an indie film premiere and it's for 3 hours. I'm struggling over deciding how much to charge because I really want the job but I don't want to sell myself short. She said she doesn't need prints; just the photos on a CD. Also, while the email says repeatedly that her budget isn't huge, it seems safe to assume that she has SOME money, as the birthday party is being held in a hotel in Times Square. Can't have been cheap!

FYI, I'm shooting with all my own equipment: a Canon 30D with 50/1.4 and 28/1.8, and my own flash/tripod, if that changes anything.

Also, if any of these turn out well I'd like to be able to use/sell them; what kind of release do I need (and where online might I find one)?

Thanks in advance!

-LC

It all depends on how badly you want to take the photos. Some will tell you not to charge anything less than full price and it goes on from there.

How badly do you want to do this? Can there be other forms of compensation?