Print sizes

Nwcid

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.jbnokesphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just beginning to print out some of my work. I am running into problems when it comes print sizes.

The original size of my images is basically 2x3. So when I shoot and digitally display there is no issue. Now that I want to print, common frame sizes like 8x10, 11x14, 16x20 have a very different crop then the image that was shot.

When you are shooting, knowing that you will be cropping to these sizes, how do you handle it? Do you just leave lots of space?

It's good (IMO) to shoot a bit loose and allow room to crop in post, but you should develop your eye such that you can "see" the final crop as you're composing the image.

What you are referring to is the aspect ratio of the image and the frame.
3:2 aspect ratio is the shape of a full frame or APS-C size image sensor. In other words the long side is 1.5x the length of the short side - 3/2 = 1.5

8x10 is a 5:4 aspect ratio. the long side is 1.25x longer than the short side.

Most print labs offer the most print sizes in the 3:2 aspect ratio, but it is not always easy to find pre-made 3:2 aspect ratio frames.
I always cropped for content and ordered custom size prints and the hardware for custom sized frames I assembled myself.
Buy Metal, Wood, & Canvas Picture Frames | American Frame 1973
American Frame How To | American Frame 1973
How to Mount Photographs to Mat Board for Framing
How to Mount and Frame a Fine Art Photograph – Award Winning Inspiring Landscapes and Visions by David Dilworth

The vast majority of my framed prints have a museum quality acid free mat (or 2 or 3) between the frame glazing and the print. You don't want the print to touch the glazing. if you don't use a mat they make spacers that are out of sight that keep the print away from the glazing.