Printer - Big Decision

kevinbiestra

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been planning to print maybe 5 copies of a full-sized (8x10) book of maybe 500 double-sided pages, color and lots of photographs.

I also wanted maybe 5 copies of a similar book of 120 double sided pages.

When I started talking to printers and pricing this out...I was getting estimates like $3,500 to print the books.

Well, I was going to forget the whole thing, but then decided that I should probably try just getting my own good printer and printing out all the pages myself, then just going to someone for binding.

But I am no expert in printers at all. Given all these pages, I need to ensure:
1. low cost per page (color and images)
2. image quality is important

I welcome any advice or recommendations with respect to appropriate options.

Thanks for your help.

I'd suggest that you continue looking around for someplace that can do this for you. Doing it yourself will probably create a handful of new problems.

These are going to be hard to find together........

Are you looking for fine art quality images or just inkjet quality.....
Can you plan your layout to minimize the number of photo pages...

Or are you rich?

These are going to be hard to find together........

Are you looking for fine art quality images or just inkjet quality.....
Can you plan your layout to minimize the number of photo pages...

Or are you rich?

I am not rich.

By low cost per page, I don't mean it has to be 2 cents. I am just going to be printing thousands of pages. Print shops want to charge about $1 per two-sided color page for the printing alone. I was figuring that by investing the capital of the printer, the variable costs (printing pages) would drop by more than enough to justify buying the printer.

But I defer to the expertise of others.

The number of photo pages is fixed.