Product Photography (jewelry) ideas needed

gossamer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I have an opportunity to get involved with a local jewelry company and do their website product shots. I'm a relative novice, but have done some product work in the past. I have a D500 with a 24-70mm f/2.8 ED VR and would like to get a 105mm macro. I also have two XPLOR 600s with Glow Parapop 38" octoboxes.

I have a light tent that I used in the past with some pet products for a local pet shop, but I don't have the lexan jewelry display cases and other supporting hardware needed for something like this.

Do you have any specific recommendations on what you've found works best? This shoot will involve necklaces, rings, and bracelets.

Also, the jewelry store is quite small, so I'm not even sure my octoboxes are going to work and the light tent might also be too large.

What is the best way to display this type of jewelry for pictures? Maybe you have some examples of shots you've taken?

Anyone up for the challenge of describing to me what I need to get started?

Jewelry is a rather demanding item to photograph. Metal that is unlit goes black, watch crystals reflect light in obstruction of the details of the watch face, colored stones may be difficult to render best against the metal, and so on. Among the most popular methods is to use a tent which is essentially diffused light from all directions. This minimizes shadows and maximizes detail. In addition to this, photographers prefer to shoot through a hole in a large black panel, so reflections of the camera aren’t evident on the face of the product.

In addition to that, sterile renditions of jewelry might be technically flawless but lacking in allure that motivates someone to buy. Digital imaging provides a lot of possibilities to add or otherwise alter an image for creating something more exciting. Imagine a beautiful diamond engagement ring against a backdrop of a rose.