Product photography - what do I need to improve?

jmariemi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a graphic designer for a small manufacturing company. We are currently expanding our product lines to be included in some big name stores like wal-mart, target, and costco. Our photography isn’t terrible, but it could use improvement to bring it up to a more professional level. I have taken photography classes, but mostly based on composition and how to use Photoshop, etc. But here I’m dealing a lot more with studio photography (and by that I mean indoor lighting for product and project shots). We have a large photography room, and currently our supplies include:

•Camera: Canon EOS 10D digital (original cost: $1,500 when we bought it 5 years ago .... current amazon price: $150)
•Lenses: Canon ultrasonic EF 100 mm f/2.8 macro USM
Canon zoom lens EF 28-200mm
•55” lightbox (with black and white backgrounds)
•2 250 watt halogen lights (This one here: Lowel Pro-light)
•2 800 watt halogen lights + a 500 watt lowel omni light (very similar to this kit here: GO Jet Set Kit)
•1 silver reflective umbrella with white on the back (same as the one in the link above)
•2 shoot-through umbrellas
•1 small light table (1.5’x1.5’)
•Black and white butcher paper rolls on the walls for backdrops
•2 plexiglass domes for jewelry

We mostly dabble in products such as: hair accessories, scrapbooking lines, tech bags, and jewelry.

I have been doing a lot of research online to learn more about studio photography and equipment, etc. but I am by no means whatsoever an expert, or even intermediate.