Professional Portraits for a brochure

Reverend

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.alsphoto.com
This is my first attempt at "Professional" portrait photography. The subject here is a Financial Services representative sales manager, and wanted pictures taken for a couple of brochures that he'll be putting together. One of the photos will be published to the company website as part of his bio.

I don't have a good backdrop for this sort of thing, so I had to make do with an empty office and some outdoor landscaping. I need to mention that his suit and tie patterns are just too busy, but that's what he chose to wear.

We're going for friendly and approachable here. Tell me what you guys think, what you might change, or have done differently.

IMG_5284.sized.jpg

He really likes this one for a brochure, maybe in B&W. I don't agree, but he can use them any way he wants.

IMG_5284_1.sized.jpg

move the subject away from the backgrounds. indoor exposures are bad.

I agree about the suit.

For the outdoor ones, it looks like you used on-camera flash at full power, which robbed you of one of the benefits of shooting outdoors. He's lit mostly by harsh direct light that overpowers the natural light. I personally think on-camera flash should only be used to fill in shadows when in direct sunlight (by setting it's power lower than full) or if you just want a snapshot. It also looks like the shrubs are trying to eat him. :p Positioning him further from them and using an aperture of around 5.6 or less would keep him in focus and help blur out the background.

The indoor shots are lit by unflattering overhead lights. On-camera fill flash would have helped here, but having him sit near a window would be best. Try that with a wide aperture.

The last one is a hoot!