Question (noob-style) re: camera purchase

guitarmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey TPFers.

I'm a noob, though I've been lurking this forum for the past while and reading up on everything you guys have to offer. Anyway, I'm looking (like everyone else, it seems) to get into the DSLR market.

Also like everyone else, I'm broke. So that limits what I'm looking at, but here are my options:
  1. Nikon D50, kit lens, 1 GB card - $800 or so (Canadian dollars)
  2. Nikon D70s, kit lens, 1 GB card - $1000 or so
  3. Canon Digital Rebel XTi, kit lens - $1100 or so
I'd love a D80, but out of my range. Anyway, the lady I was talking to at the camera shop was saying my best bet would be the D70s as opposed to the XTi (stating that the lens that comes with that particular XTi package is 'crap' and there's no card). She was pretty stoked on the lens that comes with the D70s package.

This is a total noob question and I'm somewhat embarassed to ask it, but the huge difference between the megapixels on the D70s and the XTi have me somewhat concerned (6.1mp vs 10mp). Now, I realize that this only really comes into play if you're planning on blowing up big prints - however, when I buy whatever camera I buy, I don't want to limit myself too much if I can avoid it.

So there's a few pros and cons for each of the above-mentioned cameras (D50 is cheaper, D70s has a better kit lens apparently and a card, XTi has higher mp and a huge LCD screen), but I'm not sure what kind of weighting I should put on each pro and/or con. I'm just starting to get serious about photography, so I don't know exactly what I want to shoot (but want to start out shooting everything). I also handled each camera and don't really prefer one or the other, so that's not a huge deal...the Nikon felt a little more durable than the Canon, that's about it.