Question Regarding Photography Career and Tattoos

Hof8231

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, as some of you know, I'm an aspiring professional sport photographer (NFL/MLB/NHL/etc.) but I also have tattoos that are only coverable by wearing long sleeves, which I would prefer not to do all the time.

As of right now, I work for a professional indoor football team, and while they get decent attendance, they're obviously not as popular as teams in the above leagues. My question is, do any of you know or have any experience with how organizations such as these would look at tattoos on a potential photographer. A lot of people who I've worked with have said that they feel it actually makes me look more artistic, which I'm assuming is a good thing for people to think of a photographer, but they're not multi-million dollar organizations.

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with this. Even commercial work that's not sports. Basically, working for a large organization.

I see a lot of pros with tats on their legs and all over. I can't say about Football. Get a very thin mesh long sleeve if it is going to be an issue.

I also do t see why it would be an issue. Tons of the athletes themselves are covered in ink. I mean, there's an off chance the actual person who is in charge of hiring the photographer hates tattoos. If anything I would say cover them up for the interview part (if its a big shoot being nicely dressed anyways never hurts), then let em fly once you land the gig.

Thanks for the replies! I know I'm getting a little ahead of myself thinking about pro sports leagues already, but I just wanted to make sure they weren't "job stoppers." It's not like they're obscene or anything, and with the growing popularity of tattoos, I guess for the most part people are more accepting of them.