Questions about releasing the CD to a client

derita

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new here and actually new to photography business. I'm trying to get my newborn photography business off the ground and have been taking photos for friends, etc. for free. I just got a first client who I will be charging. Because I am just starting out, I told her I will give her the CD with the edited prints. I will have her sign a model release form. I will also have her sign a print/use release form so that she can print the photos on her own if she chooses to do so.

To be honest, I'm getting very overwhelmed with the legalities of it all, so I have a few questions:
1) When I give her the CD, do I have 2 folders on it -- 1 folder with high res images for printing purposes (without my copyright/watermark) and another folder with web res. images WITH my copyright/watermark and those would be specifically for Facebook (for example)? Is that how it works? OR do I just give her the CD with high res. files and if she wants to upload them to FB, she can, but then the photos would not have my name on them at all.

2) I did mention to her that going through a pro photo lab would be best especially if she'll want to print larger photos. I was going to suggest that she orders through me, but otherwise I was going to direct her to MPix. My question is: if I am allowing the client to print their own photos, if all of the images are high res., do I need to worry about limiting the size of their prints because of the quality (or is it not a problem because since the images are in high res, the quality will be good regardless of the print size?). And also, if she does decide to go through me, how does this work? Do I just charge exactly what it costs to order the prints or do you mark it up? Sorry if this is a stupid question! Like I said, I am very new at this and very overwhelmed.

Thank you in advance for answering my questions -- any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
- Olga