Questions re: Street Photography safety/law/conventions

Pixle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i'm a brand new photographer. very new. still learning how to use my camera's most basic features new. I have a project in mind and hope to get started soon.
I basically want to take lots of photos of a very public place (public like used by public all the time, almost, 24/7 but technically under private ownership) in a major city. The place has tons of police officers, private security personnel, probably any kind of security protocol you can imagine. it's one of the most heavily monitored places you can imagine.
there are NOT however tons of people taking photos all the time - so someone taking a few photos here and there wouldnt cause attention but someone spending an hour taking photos of random things would be very unusual - this isnt like Times Square, New York or something - there isnt any tourist interest its just a public highly trafficked place.
i'm just going to take pictures of whatever is available to the public - there is going to be zero trespassing. I am positive though that i will be stopped by police, perhaps repeatedly. i hope to eventually establish a friendly relationship with some of them bc one of the things id love to get is portraits of the people who work around this area and maybe once i establish a relationship... maybe some of them would let me take their photos.. but that is second order concern - primarily i just don't want to piss anyone off so i can do this project which will last over a year. also the loation is near where i work so i *really* don't want to get on anyone's bad side.

my question to you-
anyone have experience with this? tips and/or tricks? like- should i have an instagram account or something to show them to seem more legit? (for what its worth because of the way i look, i have the privileged position of police generally not being suspicious of me ... )