Rare bird photo + focusing questions?

pedalpics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I am still very new to this slr thing coming from a P&S and not sure if I am having focusing issues or if its normal. I have a Nikon D3100 and seem to have the best luck shooting on the 3D focusing mode. My problem is that I am finding it hard to get things in focus all the time especially wildlife. Is this normal because they are not always still and in busy settings? Also don"t usually use a tripod so is that probably part of the problem and shooting with the Nikon 55-300 dx lens. Maybe I am just expecting to much for my equipment and for how and what I am shooting? Feel like I have gotten better with holding the camera still and keeping the focus dot on the subject but its not always easy.

By the way this is an Aztec Thrush just recently sited in Madera Canyon just south of Tucson, AZ. Pretty rare here from what I hear just getting into the birding world as well as the camera world.

Here is an example
#1 I think looks good after cropping.
#2 Doesn't look bad no cropping just the normal shot
#3 Is a cropped version of 2 and I think its not perfect and only Ok.
C&Cs more then fine if you guys don't hurt my feelings I'm sure my wife will so shoot.

DSC_5185.JPG

DSC_5130.JPG

DSC_5130-1.jpg

That first shot is quite good, especially given the rare bird breed.

I can't help you much on the focusing issue (don't use Nikon), but I do know that it's pretty difficult to get good focus with birds - the tree branches, bird's movements, etc all interfere.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge about your camera will add to this. If not, maybe try posting your question in the NIkon forum or Beyond the Basics to see if you get some help there.

What settings were you using (aperture/shutter speed/ISO)?