RAW to jpeg or tiff

raeraespike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Thanks in advance for reading this....I'll try to keep it short!
I've been a film photographer for 15 years. I'm fairly new to digital photography (about 1.5 years now) and feel I'm an old pro at this point ;) but I need some input from "real" people. I can read article after article but I'm getting nowhere.

K...I shoot in RAW, which I believe is the best way to shoot! Then I "do my thing" in Lightroom and then export everything as a jpeg when I'm done. But, recently a photog frind of mine tells me I should be finalizing my photos as tiffs to avoid the compression that occurs to jpegs.

Can anyone offer any advise/thoughts regarding this? My problem is that my clients and myself have to hand over jpegs to the printer, so I don't see how tiffs would really work for me.

Second part to my question....sorry.....by convertng my raw files to jpegs, am I "ruining" them? I don't think so, but my "wise-owl-friend" says that I am.

H E L P! Thanks!

A pro lab should be able to handle TIFFs. If they can't, I would get a different printer. You're not ruining the photos necessarily by compressing them into a JPEG, but there is still some loss of detail and artifacting even at the highest settings. JPEG is awesome for displaying images on the web, but hardly the best option when printing. For that, a loss-less TIFF is the way to go.

technically speaking, you are giving up lots of color data etc when you convert to jpg and not tiff. However, for practical purposes, you may find that a lot of local printing shops cant deal with TIF, and if thats the case, either you can accept that and deal with slightly lower output quality (which only an EXTREMELY discerning eye will notice)...or you can find a shop willing to print from TIF files which retain original data without compression

quick answer:

TIF > jpg when it comes to image quality (when converting from RAW)