Rebel SL1 vs RX10

Bob Marley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey yo!
I want to buy a new camera and need some advice.
I'm divided between the Canon Rebel SL1 and the Sony RX10 I (not II).
If I buy the Canon I'm going to buy it with the kit lens + the 24mm f/2.8 STM to make it really portable for most of the time and get a little more aperture, and I'm probably not going to buy any more lenses after that, I feel these two will do for my needs.
I need it for nature photos and family, nothing professional. But I do want the best image I can get for my buck.
The RX10 got me interested with its constant f/2.8 but now I'm understanding that because of the smaller sensor that actually equals about F/4 on the Canon. I would really want to get some blurry backgrounds.
The Canon does a little bit better with the ISO and that in combination with the f/2.8 lens will probably give me better images in the dark (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm a noob).
I'm also thinking that the Sony Carl Zeiss optics will give me a little bit more crispness (which I feel is really important).
And the Sony's weather resistance is really attractive. Not that I'm gonna shoot in the rain all the time, but it's good to have that confidence.
Also I heard people saying that the RX10 video codec is a little outdated and blurry, I don't know how exactly that compares to the Canon's MOV format.
So I'm really stuck and can't make up my mind. What do you think? Or if you think there's a 3rd even better option in that price range (which is not a really huge 1kg camera), lets hear it.
Thanks!

P.S.
A friend also recommended the Sony a6000. I understand it's better image quality but I just hate how it looks so square and retro. I like the DSLR look. It might sound stupid but I think enjoying the photos is just half of it, the other half is enjoying your camera, and the a6000 looks really ugly to me...