Rebel T3i as a Starter Camera?

CamaroDMD

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking to make the jump into DSLR cameras and I was thinking that the Rebel T3i would be a good choice. I want a good general purpose camera. I enjoy shooting landscapes, buildings, but also enjoy indoor shooting as well (one of my favorite places to take photos is air museums). I have some experience with Rebels through my school. I am just about to finish dental school and we have a few older Rebels (I'm not sure exactly what model but a couple years old) with a macro lens and a ring flash for intraoral photos. I will probably have a similar setup in my office down the road. Another thing I like to photograph is coins (so I will probably need to get a macro lens for that eventually).

For my personal use I have a simple Sony point and shoot camera. I like using it, but I want something that I can grow with. I want to learn to be a better photographer and I would really like a new camera to start learning with. Is a T3i a good choice? I was looking online and it seems you can purchase a bundle with either a 18-55mm lens or a 18-135mm lens. I was leaning towards the 18-135mm because it seemed more versatile and that bundle comes in right about $1000 which is probably around the max of what I want to spend at the beginning. I was thinking this might be a good graduation present for myself. :)

Any suggestions or thoughts? Thanks.

Its a fine camera that will provide many years of excellent shooting. 18-135 is a long stretch for lens. I'd recommend going 18-55 and use the savings toward the fairly well regarded 55-250.

I went from a Rebel Xs to a T3i with the 18-55mm kit lens. Eventually I purchased the 55-250mm. All have served me well. The T3i is the best Rebel out right now so the quality is good but there aren't too many bells & whistles to slow you down while you learn.