Requesting Lighting and Portrait C&C

ViceOfFire

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I posted this for C&C with a couple of photos before, and only really got 1 reply. Sorry for posting this again, but here it is on it's own.

Just the pop up flash w/ tissues bulked up to diffuse it, and foil sitting on the lens to offset it. Any opinions/criticisms are very welcome.

DSC_0021copy4-1.jpg

Sorry. Excuse the slightly washed out look, that happened in the upload to photobucket.

The eyes look clear enough, but I'm not a fan of the composition. I don't like him centered and there is that thing on the wall in the back that is distracting.

I'm not a light expert, so I'll let others give their CC

It looks good, I think, by and large. It has a very eye catching nature to it, I think, and there is an interesting vibe. The big thing I'd suggest as far as problems with it is that the knob by his head is really distracting and breaks up the dynamic nature of the lines behind him. Other than that, perhaps having a modeling light of some kind would have knocked down the size of his pupils, but that's neither here nor there.

I'd also try this with a square crop, by the by.

I have been studying your photograph for about ten minutes now and here is what I have found.

First, bigtwinky is right. The object behind the subject’s right ear needs to go. Usually I am a big proponent of seeing through the lens before looking through the lens. Let me explain. I try to look with my eyes and frame the shot before actually looking through the lens. So, in effect, my eyes are the lens well before I take the shot.

This is not always going to work, as in action shots. Be even there you can have a general idea from which you wish to begin.