Right lens for this lighting technique?

bradleyheathhays

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a new photographer in the middle of researching buying a used camera to do a specific lighting technique called light painting. Black background, 10 sec shutter speed, cutting all the lights and illuminating the piece with a quickly moving flashlight beam. The guy that made the how-to video I'm following uses an older Canon Rebel T3i camera with a 50mm Canon EF50mm F1.8 lens. He says you can use any DSLR camera with manual mode, but for simplicity's sake I'm researching buying the same camera and lens.

So in searching ebay I'm finding lots of T3i cameras but very few with the 50mm 1.8F lens he mentions. 95% of the T3is offered are bundled with either or both... an EF-S 18-55mm lens with F 1:3.5-5.6 and/or an EF-S 55-250 lens.

I've read how the larger 1.8F would be better in low light conditions, and I wondered how this extra functionality over the more common 3.5F lens would be a factor with this technique.

Is anybody familiar with this type of lighting scheme or have an idea what type of lens would be better for it?

n1nDSlc.jpg

Last edited:
Both lenses will work equally well for this application.

The 50mm f1.8 will be a bit sharper but the light painting technique will be the same. F1.8 is better in low light conditions but that's not what you are doing. Light painting is not necessarily a low light situation. It usually involves just as much light as a studio set up but the light is just applied in a different manner.
I have light painted before with my 18-55 without issue.

Now onto the camera. Just because someone used a 15year old camera in a tutorial is not a very good reason to buy a 15year old camera. You will find that if you are going to use manual mode, every DSLR/mirrorless will work the same. The only difference is where you find the functions may be a bit different on some models.
Please don't limit yourself based on this criteria alone.