Ring Speedlight/Led for Nikon - Suggestions?

ruifo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Dear friends,

I'm looking for a ring speedlight/led unity for Nikon, aiming to macro work, but to be honest, I have no experience to the products availible out there. So I'm here to ask for some suggestions for you.

I like macro, and am just an enthusiast, no more. I'm looking for something not so expensive (under USD $150), and not so heavy to carry too. I'll use it with my "Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro" lens (62mm filter thread), that I reall like and enjoy. Mounted with my D810 and D5200, depending on the occasion/need.

The "Bower SDF52N Dual Intelligent Speedlight for Nikon Cameras" called my atention, for the dual technology. But it only comes with 58mm and 67mm lens adapter ring, and I need a 62mm adapter (can I use a regular step up/down ring for that?). Any experience with this unity? Is it worthy? Will I loose my time and money with it?

Another unity I saw some reviews is the cheapo "Polaroid Macro LED Ring Flash for Nikon". It comes with al fiter thread sizes, including the 62mm. Will it do the work for an amateur? Will I loose my time and money with it? Is it too toyish?

I also did look at more expensive options, like the "Sigma EM140 DG" unity, that seems to be well regarded, but it looks like to be a flash unity only, with no constant led light option. My only issue is that I'm looking for constant led ring light + ring flash in a single package (and right/lef lit options, for creating better depth in the images). Something around the lines of the features shown in this video:

Here is another unity I've been researching about: "GiSTEQ Flashmate II Ringflash for Nikon Cameras". It looks like to do all these features I'm looking for. But again, I've never heard of any of these brands at all... And I don't know whether they're reasonably good, or just a waste of time and money...