Rules of Photography in the city...

DapperAperture

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I am just getting into photography seriously and I am planning a trip to Seattle. I'm finding out that there are particular rules about what you can and can't take pictures of and if you need a permit or permission to photograph certain things. I'm trying to find out what rules Seattle has. I did find out online from another photographer that in New York City you need a permit if you use a tripod. I've searched the City of Seattle website and I haven't found what their rules are. Now, if what I'm searching for is considered law and you can get in trouble for not obeying the rules, shouldn't the rules be accessible so I know not to break them?

So I guess my question is where can I go to find out these rules? I will not pay for a book to tell me the rules because it's ridiculous. Even in the town I live in I am unable to find the rules of photography.

Thank you for your help!
Dapper Aperture

I think each property has its own rules. Check with management. Before you start taking pictures.

**** the rules just shoot till you get stopped, as far as i'm concerned there are no rules if you are on public land, some shots you cannot use for commercial gain

The easiest way is to search the city's website; any "big" rules should be listed there. In general as long as you are on public land you shouldn't be a problem. I've shot all over Seattle, including through the public market and never had an issue. Typically the only real concern cities have is about blocking traffic, etc, so you might run into problems if you have tripods and such set up on the sidewalk and are impeding pedestrians, but for the most part, it should be fine.

Anything visible from public property is fair game.
The exteriors of buildings are fair game.
People out in public are fair game.