Save me from Ken Rockwell's advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photongraphy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, I decided to read Ken Rockwell's website for a while. It was the #1 result on Google for photography advice. However, I tend to seek other opinions before making any kind of purchase, so I googled "Ken Rockwell is a dumbass" and "Ken Rockwell is an idiot," the later which brought up this site.

A lot of people seem to disagree with him.

For a total newbie just starting out (I've been into the... point and shoot... scene... oh dear), what kind of camera is recommended? I'd love to take beautiful, clear pictures such as this:

File:Hong Kong Skyline Restitch - Dec 2007.jpg - Wikimedia Commons

I don't understand the whole "lens" thingmabob, and I don't know what kind of DSLR I need. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :mrgreen: However, I don't want advice for Point & Shoot cameras. Right now, I am only interested in DSLR's due to what I've read everywhere.

EDIT: Oh yeah, one more thing. I've been looking at this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830120355

so I googled "Ken Rockwell is a dumbass" and "Ken Rockwell is an idiot,"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830120355
OK, that actually made me laugh, lol.

Read this:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/about.htm

While often inspired by actual products and events, just like any other good news organization, I love to stretch the truth if it makes an article more fun. In the case of new products, rumors and just plain silly stuff, it's all pretend. If you lack a good BS detector or sense of humor, please treat this entire site as a work of fiction.

Yeah, I read it. However, most people aren't going to read that horrific wall of text. I'm basically looking for advice on getting started.

But you did read it, so you should know better... Half of what he says is good advice, the other half is pure BS... If you can't tell which is which, don't read his site.