Saying hello with some samples.

elydustin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! I'm Dustin Ely and I'm looking to get my name out there with everyone else. I am only a beginner (1 year experience) when it comes to photography and photo editing, but I try my best and am always looking for critique.

Please let me know how i can make my photos better, I know i struggle on hitting the focus and clarity at times but if you see something else let me know.

car1.jpg

courthouse2.jpg

silo.jpg

toilets.jpg

windmill.jpg

81476.jpg

Liana.jpg

bee4.jpg

bixby.jpg

flower9.jpg

Last edited:
i dont think its my computer... but I cant see anything...

ya i think the image uploads didn't work right... ill fix them :p

Excellent work Dustin, I'm looking forward to seeing some more.

Is there a filter or something on the first few? They look weird

Well theres a lot of time put into a few of them. Its a combination of adjusting as RAW, filters, layers, manipulation, lighting effects, and even black and white layers, and smudge stick.

I understand you put a lot of time into these but I can see a lot of over processing, and pixelation. A good rule of thumb is that a great shot doesn't need any PP, but rather uses PP to bring it to another level.

A good starting point when editing a photo is to adjust only things like contrast, curves, some saturation, maybe even a b/w layer in overlay to add some depth that may have been lost, but just focus more on taking the picture and less on the PP.

As they stand right now a lot of those images look like snap shots, or they look like they've been edited and neither situation is really desirable.

Most of your shots actually show decent use of ROT, but I think it would actually help them out to tone down the pp