Scammed on amazon? FD 50mm 1.4 ssc question!

Edian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone! First post here :)

I just started studying film photography here in miami. Looking forward to sharing and learning from all of you guys here!

I ran into an issue just now and need someone to help me figure something out...... I just got a canon FD 50mm SSC 1.4 to replace the 1.8 that came with my AE-1.

It arrived with what appears to be a scratch on the middle glass element.
111864-b8aa8d3714b69b4f03c51efa0663b249.jpg
111865-ad431879065e6d3d65f6dbef230a29cd.jpg

I contacted the vendor immediately and sent them pictures of the lens. The seller responded to me saying that there was no way the lens was scratched and that they had photos to prove it.

They sent me an out of focus picture of the front of the lens and a side view picture.
111861-9b5cbe848c1c0f49bc3051309e06d73a.jpg
111862-63375992d315824edba407b6e4889b68.jpg

Then they said i could return it.

All of a sudden i got another email saying that the serial number on the rear element did not match their records.
111860-c84e16965cfa74ff393bafc2bcb71e78.jpg

( the side view pic they had previously sent matched the serial number on the outside of the lens that was sent to me ) they proceeded to call me a lier and threatened to file a report against me. I told them they must have made a mistake and to please verify their records. they then responded by saying they would file the report against me.

Upon closer inspection of the final photo they sent me ( the one with the all of a sudden "new" serial number on the rear element ) it is not even the right lens as the FD 50mm ssc AS FAR AS I CAN TELL. that is why I am here asking for some help. I am an amateur photographer and might be mistaken...