School Portraits?

AustinPhotographer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.justinwallacephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a commercial photographer here in Austin, Texas. Although I mainly shoot product/architectural/portrait photography for advertising, some of my best paying gigs are school portraits for some of my oldest clients. It's a fairly straight forward job every year, and on a dollar-per-hour basis is probably my most profitable project.

My question to you all is:
Have any of you been particularly successful in your market areas getting started in shooting school portraits. What techniques, shooting/sales/marketing, make you competitive with the bigger companies like Lifetouch.

I'm working on some direct marketing materials to send out to schools here locally and could definitely use some advice on structuring packages/digital image rights/cds/online galleries/etc.

I currently have a process of pre-payment due at the time of the shoot with pre-ordered packages of prints. It works great with my existing clients, but I'm not sure how receptive bigger schools would be to the idea of pre-paying for portrait packages they don't yet trust.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

- Justin

Around here, most or all of the schools are 'under contract' with one or two big companies. And of course, it's also the same company that sell class rings, letter jackets etc.
I've heard that in many places, getting these sweet deals has to do with how much you kick back to the school (or school board).

Hi Justin,

I believe Lifetouch is pre-paid as well for K-12 schools. It all depends on what the school wants.