Searching for a DSLR

CaboSailor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings,

I've got extensive experience in film photography, 35 mm through 4x5. I still own 2 Canon A-1's, a Canon F1N, and a Sea & Sea Motormarine IIEX. However, the time has come though to get a DSLR.

I'm getting ready to go cruising for an undetermined length of time so the camera will be in a marine environment. While making every effort to keep it dry, it will be exposed to salt air. So I'm leaning towards a camera with pretty good sealing.

Primary use will be record the sights during our travels but also to take reference photos to be used in drawing and painting. These photos will include landscape, travel scenes, wildlife, and nature shots. So the availability of good quality but reasonably priced telephoto and macro lenses would be a plus. I would also like to have no more shutter lag than I do with my 35 mm. I get tired of looking at prints of the ass end of the dolphin if you know what I mean.

I'm thinking somewhere around the 10 mp range with a budget for the body and initial lens of around $1,500 plus or minus a couple hundred. To some extent this can be modified if needs must. On the other hand I don't see any advantage in spending way more than is needed for what I'll be doing.

Needless to say I also include reliability and customer support fairly high on the list. I'd just as soon not have to send it in for repair from St. Lucie and pay customs both ways for the privilege.

I have a couple that I'm looking at but I'll wait to see what comes up here from those with hands on experience. I hope that you folks can give me some input and if there is any other background info needed, just let me know.

Thanks,
Rich

I'm sure there's a Cannon to fit the bill as well but I'm a Nikon guy so with those specs and price range I would highly recommend the Nikon D90 with 18-105 kit lens, runs about $1200 at Best Buy but could be had cheaper online I'm sure.