Several Decisions

Roger_Federer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody!

At the moment I own a Nikon D200 and a Tamron 17-50mm/2.8. In the next time I want to buy some more lenses and some more accessories.
With accessories I mean a tripod, a flash, battery grip and a remote.

Tripod:

I really have no clue which tripods are worth it to take them into consideration!
I want to need for situations with less AL, landscapes and macros. It shouldnt be too heavy, maybe I want to carry it with me or take it for travelling. In the "worst" case I would use my D200 with a battery grap and a 70-200mm.
I dont want to spend that much money, because I am just a beginner and wont need the tripod all the time. Just want a transportable, robust (should at least be able to hold my d200 without issues) tripod.
Any recommendations??

Remote:

Actually I want a third-party remote because because actually the original Nikon ones are too expensive. I have seen some good ones at amazon! Now I just dont know wireless or wirer. Or shouldnt I waste time thinking about that "issue"?

Flash:

For my requirements I guess the SB-600 will be fine! But what are about the alternatives to the SB-600 (Metz,...)? Would you recomment the original Nikon one or a third-party flash? If the second, which modell would it be?

Regards Timo

Last edited:
Tripods: DON'T BUY CHEAP. Yes, you can get tripods at Wal-Mart for $49.99, but ask yourself, does it really make sense to spend $50 to support $2000 worth of gear? Not in my book. Expect to spend $200 on a decent used set of legs and head, or $350+ for new. Stick with known brands such as Manfrotto, Gitzo, and Benbo. When it comes to heads, spend a little extra and get a ball head instead of a tilt/pan head. They're much more versatile for general use.