Shadow question

TB68

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am having an issue I've never had before and I'm not sure what to do about it. I am getting a shadow along the top line on a horizontal photograph. It also does it when I hold my camera vertically and the shadow goes to the left. Is it my flash, a setting, or my camera in general? I am including examples. Thanks for any advice/help.
IMG_2012.JPG
IMG_1976.JPG

Looks like your shutter speed is faster than your cameras maximum flash sync speed.

I'm no expert in flash photography but that were my first thaughts as well. It’s something I've suffered too.

The meta data with the first image says your shutter speed was 1/400 sec, ISO 400, f/5, but it also says the flash did not fire. There is no metadata on the 2nd image. Most flash units with HSS (High Speed Sync) work up to about 1/200 sec then you'll start to see part of the frame blacked out. The flash did not fire value is confusing. What type of flash did you use?

I'm surprised they let you use a flash during a game as it distracts the players. I had an on camera flash fire at a game and they nearly threw me out.

The meta data with the first image says your shutter speed was 1/400 sec, ISO 400, f/5, but it also says the flash did not fire. There is no metadata on the 2nd image. Most flash units with HSS (High Speed Sync) work up to about 1/200 sec then you'll start to see part of the frame blacked out. The flash did not fire value is confusing. What type of flash did you use?

I'm surprised they let you use a flash during a game as it distracts the players. I had an on camera flash fire at a game and they nearly threw me out.

Thanks for the response. I used a Godox TT600 flash. It all depends on the situation as far as using flashes at games. When it comes to basketball, I don't use a flash when they are shooting free throws. They don't allow them at state basketball or wrestling tournaments, but other than that, I've never had a problem.