Sharpness and DOF question.

sandrael

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Dear patrons of the forum, I am sure it is quite a recurrent question but after reading too much theory I got a littlbe bit confused on this matter. In the book "Understanding Exposure" the author mentions that for landscape photos you should use f/22 in order to have sufficient DOF so that the whole landscape is in focus.

However now I have discovered that using f/22 will render photos not tack sharp because at that aperture you start to loose sharpness and the sharpest apertures are usually couple stops down from wide open.

So the questions is what aperture to use to render landscapes sharp and n focus then? What apertures do you usually use for taking photos of lets say building like churches or museums? And how exactly do you know what aperture do you need to render subject both sharp and in focus?

Thank you for all your help and answers!

Here is a calculator for you. Im no pro. but the most I'll ever use is f13 maybe more if I need to stop down on light.
I don't know why their telling you f22. you will always get chromatic aberrations, although higher end lenses handle it better than cheapies.

Last edited:
Read up on hyperfocusing. That's exactly what you want for this situation.

Ok...this is not a personal attack....but this..... but the most I'll ever use is f13 .... is just plain silly.

You have different f-stops on you lens so that you can....USE...them.

I assure you that Bryan Petersen pretty much knows what he is talking about.

If you need to capture a scene with a very deep depth of field, of course you can use f22. Yes, you may give up a TINY bit of sharpness to get the depth of field, but that's ok; the photo is about the depth of field. This is one of those SUPER-CRTITICAL issues, that as a newby you probably don't need to worry about in 98% of your photos.