Shooting around FOG MACHINES

KSOMS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

For my very first post ever, I will ask the question that is killing me.

So I am a club photographer, I have quite the experence with it, and have recently started at a new club and have run into a problem i have never encountered before (surprisingly).

two words guys...
FOG MACHINES

So this club gets Filled with fog by the end of the night.
I use a Nikon D80, with a 24-70mm f/2.8ED lens, and an SB 900 Flash, which is pointed at the roof the whole time, with the diffuser head on.

I shoot anywhere from 1/20- 1/80 with my flash at about 1/4 power

now, all my photos look like a hot box. for those of you who are unaware of what that is, its basically a smoke filled room.

ive found a way to get around it kind of during editing, which is converting them to "direct positive" but that makes my photos look like garbage. and i can not have this happen any more. i am loosing business over this problem, and am hoping you all might have some skills with this that i dont.

I shoot RAW and use Adobe Lightroom 2 to edit.

The first two are directly from camera, the third one is edited but as you can see i cant get around the fog...

sorry for the size of these photos, as i cannot make them smaller...

Feb25023.jpg

Feb25032.jpg

Feb25082.jpg

So there you have it, sorry for the huge images, i cant figure out how to make them smaller...

Welcome to the forum.

So what's the question? :scratch:

If you are shooting a smoke filled room, it's going to look like a smoke filled room, not a whole lot you can do about that.

I've run into the same problem before too. Taking in a bit more ambient can help a little, but I can't think of a way to get rid of it.

UHh, everyone i have spoken to says there is no way around it, i was hoping there was some age old secret kind of thing not many knew of...