Shooting Babies & Toddlers

AUZambo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It appears that this is going to be my calling. I've had several friend who have just had kids call me asking me to shoot their kids (tee hee...that still makes me chuckle). Also, my first baby is due in September and I really want to get some great shots of her. I have no real experience doing this and no formal training on lighting. The one time I did this I used a room wih lots of windows for natural lighting. For those of you who have done this, what advice for me do you have & what settings do you general use?

My equipment is as follows:
Lenses:
Minolta 50mm/1.7
Tamron 18-50mm/2.8
Sony 18-200/3.5-6.3
Sigma 10-20/4-5.6

Flash: HVL-F36AM

King size black wrinkle-free sheet set for back drops (includes flat, fitted, and two pillow cases)

Bean Bag (to lay baby on??)

TIA!

Im hoping to get some solid advice as well. Ive finally made my mind up on which camera to upgrade to and my first attempt as a actual photographer will be baby protraits and family portraits.

* Fast glass and/or a flash you can bounce of the ceiling or wall. You can also do this by using something like the white side of a business card and tucking it under the flash, then angle it upward so the flash bounces off of it. (I hope that kind of makes sense.)

* Get down on their level - it makes for much more interesting shots.

Kids are fast and never sit still unless they are sleeping (even then it's hit and miss) :)

Oh, pack LOTS of patience.