Shooting in RAW. Am I doing something wrong

digabella

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just getting started with photography (as far as I am actually shooting in Manual) and hubby was inspired by a photographer that he met on a plane that I should be shooting in RAW. I had tried before but honestly I didn't want to have to figure out how to open my pix when what I was shooting wasn't something I was being paid for anyway. So, he changed my image quality to RAW and I went and shot a bunch of pix. I have adobe elements and cs2 and I'm not very familiar with either. Anyhoo...after lots of cussing and trying several different things he downloaded some program for the elements 6 so that you can preview and then open up my .nef files. At some point we were looking at them and I noticed that it said 72 dpi. Not sure where that was among the attempts to see the nef's. Now, in elements, I can use this prog that he downloaded to see the nef and then it has a button to open the file. There it tells me the pic (nef) is 240 dpi. I realize that this is printer dpi rather than ppi for the actual picture. I just thought that a nef file was all of your info uncompressed so it would be much higher than that. Is the camera doing what it is supposed to do if it is only 240 dpi? With it set to RAW on my d40x, I don't have the option of picking Large/Medium so it freaked me out when I saw that 72 dpi and then 240 dpi. Hope this made sense.

Yeah...240 and 72 are both common default settings for Nikon NEF files...rest easy--even though you might see that low, scary 72 number down there on the bottom, a Nikon .NEF file will still have the same high quality no matter if that bottom number is 72 or 240. The output size can be easily changed in the software preferences! So, no need to worry.

Thanks Derrel,
Whatever we looked at that was 72 dpi looked really grainy but the 240 wasn't so bad. I just didn't know if I had did something wrong.