Shooting in RAW

DennisK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok,I'll admit it....I'm a noob;that's why I'm here in the beginner's thread.Anyway,I have a question that no one has ever told me.I understand that when you shoot in JPEG,the camera processes a lot of detail out of your image;that's why we shoot in RAW. But what I'm confused about is,after post-processing your RAW images in Photoshop,you usually have to save it in JPEG,TIFF,or some other format;especially if you send your images out to be printed.So if you save to JPEG,don't you lose the detail just like it would be if you originally shot in JPEG? If so,why even shoot in RAW in the first place?

With RAW you get more control of the end result, with jpeg you're stuck with that quality. You can edit the jpegs but the quality can't get much better.

Basically, when you shoot jpg in the camera, then you are allowing the camera to determine the final image - well not quite, you can do some limited editing in your editing software, but not nearly as much as you can with a Raw file. With the in-camera jpg a lot of the image processing is done by the camera and if you don't like it then there is not a lot you can do about it. If you shoot raw, then you get to determine what the final image looks like - not the camera. So when you convert to jpg for web display or any other reason, the converted image will retain your editing and will look more like you wanted it to. You may lose some detail, but as long as you have your original raw file, you will be able to do multiple "edits" and convert them to jpgs. HTH.

Cheers,

WesternGuy