Shooting Snowflakes - Looking for Feedback

Hysteria

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, guys. I was walking around one evening not too long ago and I saw an opportunity for a photo. I changed the mode of my camera to `Snow` in order to optimize the colour and texture of the snow, but I forgot that the flash always switches on when I change the mode. I took some pictures and after reviewing, I realized that using flash while snow is falling catches the snowflakes in a somewhat bokeh state.

Anyway, I am pretty satisfied with these snapshots so I wanted to see what you guys think. Do you have any advice for me? How could I have improved the quality of this image? Is there any technique I could have used to improve anything?

Now, I am still beginning here, so I do know that these snapshots are nowhere near `awesome` status, I'm simply doing what I can to get criticism.

Photo:

$Photos__0032.jpg$Photos__0020.jpg

Specs:

Camera: Kodak EasyShare C180 (pretty bad camera, I know, but I'm stuck with it for now...)
MPs: 10.2
Mode: Snow
Flash: On
Focus: The lamp to the right of the frame
ISO: Auto

Put your camera on a tripod, go to manual exposure/ISO and turn the danged flash off. You will end up with a long exposure and will not see the snowflakes falling, but you will get nice sharp details in the lightpost with the snow better exposed. Also, experiment with the white balance setting,start with incandescent and move through tungsten, at a minimum set it to shady and have a consistent result to work on from image to image.

I disagree somewhat...If I wanted to take a snapshot of the snow falling at night I'd want to see the snow. To capture it you'd have to use flash, otherwise you wouldn't see it or it would look like rain falling.