Should I buy a SLR Camera?

go4saket

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello friends!

I am not a pro photographer nor do I intend to be one. I like clicking pictures, specially of family and stuff. I dont have much idea about photography stuff and at present have a Sony Cybershot DSC-P200.

Since some time I am very much interested in buying a decent SLR camera as a few friends told that pictures taken from a SLR are far more superior. As I am not much into photography stuff and as I have very limited knowladge about all this, should I or shouldnt I go for a SLR camera.

If pictures are much better and one doesnt need to be technically very strong to use a SLR, I dont mind buying one. So which one should I go for, Canon or Nikon and which model. As I am just a starter, I dont want to invert a fortune on it but on the otherhand dont want to buy any dying technology. I saw reviews of a few like Nikon D60, D40x & D40, but couldnt decide.

So please recommend me a good camera.

Thank you.

If you don't intend to invest too much into photography, you're probably best off going with the D40 (or D60 if you feel like spending the extra cash) and kit lens.

In unexperienced hands, a DSLR is just as bad as a p&s but if you have a passion for photography and are willing to learn, just get one. Oh, and go with the D40.

I'd say go for a nice point-and-shoot. I'm all about DSLRs, but they're not for everybody. Your friends who told you that DSLRs are far superior are partially right. If you have the money to invest in glass, have the time and want to learn the features, and don't mind a camera that takes a backpack, then a DSLR will help you get better results.