shouldn't I see the f-stops?

sarallyn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone -- complete noob here (I've only ever used a sony cybershot dsc-650).

I just inherited a canon ae-1 (film camera... it's old, too) with a 35-135 mm f/3.5-4.5 lens.
My problem is that when I took the lens off and adjusted the f-stops, I couldn't see the hole widen or become smaller. When I look through the lens and adjust the f-stops, it looks like it just stays on the maximum aperture.
Is it supposed to be like that?? Is this a complete noob question, or is there something wrong? I'll be developing my first roll of film from it this weekend... I'll see how it turns out (probably absolutely horrible).

Thanks.

could it be locked?

on Nikon AF lenses there is a little switch.

I believe that the aperture remains at it's widest, until you trip the shutter. That's how modern lenses/cameras work.

Remember that you are looking though the lens when you look into the viewfinder. If the lens stopped down before the exposure, the viewfinder would get darker and harder to see, as less light was allowed in.

This is also why some cameras have a DOF preview button. It stops down the aperture so that you can preview the DOF...but of course, it makes it darker.

could it be locked?

on Nikon AF lenses there is a little switch.

nope -- I don't think it's locked. I can turn and switch to different f-stops, but nothing will appear in the lens.
one thing I just noticed when I took the lens off is that when I switch to different f-stops there is a little metal part on the base of the camera (that fits into the camera when the lens is one) that will move from side to side as I change the aperture.

I believe that the aperture remains at it's widest, until you trip the shutter. That's how modern lenses/cameras work.

hmm... I know the camera is from the 60s or 70s, and I'm sure the lens is pretty old, too.