Sigma or Nikkor?

chrisbrown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a beginner with a D40 and I am looking to buy my first lens. I have the kit lens(18-55 f/5.6) and the 70-200(f/5.6). I'm looking for something in the 24-90mm. I have found a Sigma 28-70 and Nikkor 24-70, both f/2.8. My only questions are: 1)Will the Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG AF autofocus on the D40? and 2)why is the AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED same range $1300 more than sigma's?

Because range is probably close to the last thing that determines the price of the lens (unless talking about serious telephoto's). Sharpness, contrast, and color is going to be much better on the Nikon lens. It's not always the case, but regarding the two you are considering, there will be about $1300 worth of quality difference between them (if not more).

so in the long run, i should probably get the nikon..will the sigma autofocus on my d40 tho?

If the sigma has HSM, it will. And the difference between the lenses is going to be build quality, and probably image quality. The image quality isn't always enormously better for the substantially higher price of the Nikkor, but it will last a lot longer than the Sigma.

Nikkors are a lifetime purchase, never regretted. That said, beginners with limited cash need to experiment, dabble and play. There is a good case to be made for purchasing adequate quality now and when you get a real job, buy real lenses.

There was a day when you needed to make excuses for using Sigma class lenses, but no longer. Remember the D40 sensor isn't state-of-the-art either.

For what it's worth, my previous reply was Only in regards to the two lenses that you mentioned. There are many, many cases where I would choose the Sigma version over the Nikon equivalent . Example being the Sigma 18-55 f2.8 vs. Nikon 17-55 f2.8. The Nikon is definitely a better lens still, but not $700 better IMO. Same goes for the Sigma 30mm f1.4 vs. Nikon 35/2 for obvious reasons.