Sigma Pro 70-300 Asp Macro?

RSisco

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography, my wife and I want to take nice family photos (as well as kids sports, birds, etc)

After much research on the forum here, I picked up a Nikon D5100 with the 18-55mm VR lens.

I was going to order a Nikon AF-S 55-300mm F/4.5-5.6G ED DX VR Zoom Lens. The sales person, explained that Sigma just came out with a new lens (one that is so new, it's not even on their website yet). It's a Sigma Pro 70-300 Aspherical Macro Pro w/ High Speed Focusing Motor.

It would be nice to have some macro function for bugs, flowers, etc, but I wanted some advice. Typically I would just by the Nikon 55-300 and then a lens for macro, but at the moment, with a new baby, the budget is tight.

Has anyone heard of this new Sigma Pro 70-300 Asp Macro? It's supposed to be equivalent to the Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 APO DG Macro but with a new faster motor.

I did ask if it has VR as I have seen posted here many times, that VR is a must. I was told that instead of VR it has a fast focus motor which is much faster and will not allow any vibration.

I seek input.

Rick

Hmmm. Focus speed and image stabilization have nothing to do with each other. Image stabilization occurs after you have focused and when you press the shutter button the rest of the way. IMHO, Image stabilization can be useful, but it's overrated and won't stop subject motion, only camera shake. It seems a lot of people just getting into photography want it for a crutch without understanding what it's useful for, and what it's not useful for. Ensuring your shutter speed is appropriate works just as well, and will stop subject motion. And I'm not sure where you have seen that VR "is a must".

As far as macro, these lenses aren't true macro lenses. They will allow a closer minimum focus distance than most lenses, but not as close as a true macro.