Signing prints.

DanielK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Is there a right or wrong way to sign prints? I'd like to get everyone elses take on this.

Also, what is a usual print run for your above average to spectacular prints? Do you print the hell out of the spectacular shots in a run of 1500 or do you make it kind of exclusive (and expensive to own) with a run of 15? How does one destroy a digital "negative"?

I've had some experience with paintings and non-photography prints, but never with photographic prints.

All input is very welcome.

Daniel

I'm not currently bothering with limited runs. There's a rather humorous, and I think informative, article in the April/May edition of LensWork titled Money Games by Brooks Jensen. I agree with a lot of what he says. I don't see a lot of those price-boosting techniques working until a person has made a name for themselves anyway, and I'm not there yet.

As for signing, on the back with pencil and on the matte seems to be a good choice. I've taken to putting capture and print date on, like "2002-2004".

Our teacher made us sign the year on the left side and our name on the right side, under the print on the front of the matte board.

it's a personal thing, really. i sign the back of board, not the front. i also include a tag with print details and a certificate of authenticity that have my signature. if someone likes my print, they'll keep them, otherwise the next generation will have to see my name on the back when trying to sell it at a yard sale.