Sizes of polarising filter?

crofi_annan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Can anyone explain how polarising filters are sized?

I want to purchase one for my Nikon FE (50mm and 28mm) but am slightly overwhelmed at the number of different filters and as I plan to order online, I could do with a tip as to one which would be suitable.

Any views appreciated. And many thanks in advance.

C

I think all filters are sized to the lenses you have, the size of the lens is often on the inside of your lens cap, so for example I look at my 50mm 1.8 and I take of the cap and see it takes a 52mm filter

Some filters have different gradients and darknesses, like the neutral density filters, but Im not sure if there is anything extra about the circular polarisor (im still learning too.

You need to know the filter diameter of your lenses. It should be written on the front of the lens.

The size of the filter is an o with a slash through it. It will be written on the body or, on the front of the lense. Also take off your caps and, it should say what size it is.

Go to a good photo store and ask. If the price is not too much buy. Support your local merchants or they will not be there when you need something in a hurry.

Go to a good photo store and ask. If the price is not too much buy. Support your local merchants or they will not be there when you need something in a hurry.

Unless it's Ritz - they never have anything except cheap trash.