Small Medieval Church

goooner

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, hope everyone has had a good festive period. I've not been posting much due to a heave work load, but will try and make time for this wonderful forum more next year. Took these shot on a recent walk in southern Germany.

I'm pretty new to B&W processing so any c&c will be appreciated. These are panoramas, stitched in LR and processed in Silver Efex Pro 2, and then tweaked in LR again. Not sure if I went over the top.

#1 4 vertical stitched

#2 2 horizontal panos
[url=https://flic.kr/p/Dm1NKz]
[/url]

I like the b&w conversion, but for me use of a wide lens like that with asymmetrical conversion of vertical lines is less acceptable.

Thanks for looking, I think I see what you mean. Will see if I can correct it.

Hi. Converging vertical lines are acceptable. Not everyone like it but even great AA was shooting some specific subjects this way. However his sense of aesthetics, and I agree on that, demands high degree of symmetry. Like in jcdeboever thread "Comerica". Wide landscapes seldom deliver suitable subjects for this kind of work. Your pic #1 has that potential. Medieval looking church, graveyard, intense sky, leafeless trees. With a little more work around this subject may deliver horrorlike drama. #2 is too wide, with random elements in it not connected to the central subject like the whole right side with shed and road. IMHO.

One of the joys of mediaeval churches is that they were not usually built to exacting standards and over 800 - 1000 years, the buildings have settled and moved. We have a rather spectacular cathedral in Lincoln with three towers - all three point in a different direction. I have learnt not to worry about verticals with churches (they are one of my main subjects).