So frusterated

maytay20

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.mwphoto.info
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am working really hard on learning to use the manual settings on my camera. Yesterday I had a family birthday party so i took shots with manual. I was hoping to print them for mothers day presents. Well most of them turned out grainy. I just am not sure what I did wrong?? Well I know the obvious the setting were not right. Even though I have read a lot of books and information online I just can't seem to get it right. I know my camera can do it. Can any one give me any pointers of what I might of done wrong?? Also I keep getting told it is a waste to use raw it this true??? I am just learning about it both but it id frustrating that if I put my camera on manual I can use raw but if I put it on a preset it won't let me use raw. Now I had another photographer show me her Canon rebel xt and that she could use the presets with raw. You would think with the 30D being a step up from the Rebel it would do the same. Don't get me wrong I have using presets but as of right now I know I am no were good enough with manual to use it with clients.
Here are two of the photos from yesterday. Can anyone give me a pointer on how to get better results? Maybe if I had my external flash on??
(I also wish his diaper bag wasn't behind him but it wasn't my house or any attemp of a pro shoot)
_MG_37772blurry.jpg

_MG_38002.jpg

Check your ISO settings. I usually set mine to 400 indoors and 200 outdoors(I have a Nikon d50) As a general rule, the higher the ISO setting the grainier the picture will be.
As for RAW, if you will be editing your pics, then RAW is great (but I have met ppl who didnt like it much) If you are just snapping and printing no editing involved I dont think RAW is necessary. (Am I right? anyone?)