Some advice/help needed...

paulpippin29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks... couple of questions here...

I've been fortunate enough to schedule two paying shoots which will hopefully take place over the weekend, and I so desperatly need this money, so I want to make sure I get this right, since this will be the first time I've ever charged, and recieved money for my photography work.

Ok, since I'm not an established professional, and don't have a studio, I'll be doing some late evening, outdoor, natural light shots. I have no flash unit other than the built in, and I've seen it's work before, not to happy with that, so, pure natural light.

These girls want the outdoor, natural light shoot... as they've seen my previous freebie work, and they love it, so that's not an issue, as it was requested... however, here's my question concerning this:

I have both a UV filter, and a Polarizer filter... both made by Canon, both costing a good bit, and seem to have some really nice quality. I've done tons of outdoor shots using both of them, just to see the effects, and of course, the Polarizer provides an instant difference, but, should I use a Polarizer filter when shooting people outdoors? Will it enhance them, or ruin them? I've never used it on a actual person... just flowers, and the general nature thing. What about the UV? Would it be useful, or worthless?

Second question I have is concerning a possible third shoot, which might derive from one of the girls I'm going to be shooting already. One of them has a brother, who's graduating from high school next year. Her mother told her that she wanted to see the final pictures that I take, and if she likes them, she's rather pay me to do his senior portraits than one of our local established photographers. Now, this scares me, simply because it's such a memorable time in his life, and for his family, and I'm not to sure about all of this.