Some duck shots

BmDubb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So this is my FIRST attempt at capturing LIVE wildlife.. It wasn't very easy. These ducks were kind of skittish. I put on my 55-200mm Lense and got down to there level.. I Know these aren't the best. But I thought for my first shots on LIVE wild animals they turned out decent.. And I thought Id share. Hope you like em :mrgreen:

* Female Mallard Ducks *

Duck011.jpg

Duck001.jpg

Last edited:
The weeds are very distracting. Try shooting from a different angle or wait until it's moved to a more pleasant area - though I suppose it's kinda hard to considering that it's moving and you don't want to scare it... etc.
Neither of them are focused properly.

In the first image, though his feet were probably submerged, they're at the very bottom of the frame and appear to be cut off, along with the tip of the tail feathers. It seems like with so much extra room at the top and left of the frame, that could have been avoided.
I really like the second one, though! While I am viewing these on my li'l 8.9" netbook right now, I really don't see anything wrong with the focusing. The exposure and focus look good to me. Well captured!

One of the challenges of nature photography is that you often have very little control over the surroundings, or even composition. Wild animals are going to do what they want and go where they want. Perfect composition and eliminating distracting elements is sometimes impossible, even with cropping. You just have to work with what you're given, and in the second image I think you did that well. I stay away from critiquing things that you have no control over.