some newbie questions...

Bakko

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so im a 20 year student at the moment, with a passion for photography.
i eventually want to open my own studio, but thats a long ways away ;]

anyways, i had some newbie questions, and would really appreciate some feedback.

So, im pretty sure on what camera i want to get(Nikon D90) but not sure about the lens. It comes with a 18-105mm lens but most people that have that camera say they dont use that lens at all.. any opinions on which lens to get? Just keep in mind that im on a college student budget, so im looking for a lens i can use for a while thats pretty versatile.

thnx!!

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Do the people who tell you they don't use that lens give you a reason why? I have it and I use it all the time, its versatile you get decent zoom range with it, granted it isnt a fast lens but I see no problem with it. I would say it's a great starter lens.

I have it and use it frequently too. People always want to complain about kit lenses but I think they work great until you need the improved IQ of high end glass. Find a couple fast primes to supplement your kit lens and you'll find you have something good for most shooting conditions (ex: 50mm 1.8 and 35mm 1.8). Also keep some of the third party lenses in mind too. Sigma, Tamron, and Tokina make some exceptional glass for much less $ than Nikons.

If you get the camera with the lens, try it out and if you feel it isn't up to par with what you expect, sell it and replace it with something better. I think you might find it's not as bad as people make it out to be.

Lenses are tools. You use the one that can capture the scene that you wanted. It appears that the 18-105mm was not the tool that fit their requirements.