Some scanner basics please

Grandpa Ron

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just started shooting 4x5 negatives and processing them on an HP printer/scanner.

My approach is rather crude but effective. Basically I lay the negative on the platen, cover it with a glass plate to hold it flat, mask of the remainder of the platen with black cardboard, then leave the top open and use a deck lamp to shine through the negative when I scan. I adjust the density with sheets of white paper between the lamp and the scanner.

I have been reading about the Epson V600 scanner, It says it will copy slides.

So my question is will this or some other inexpensive scanner copy 4x5 negatives?

The V600 is more than capable for 4 x 5. I have a V800 but only got it because of a sale and 18 months same as cash and the V600 wasn't in stock at the time. I have used the V600 and it does the same thing and can scan two at one time if I recall correctly. The V800 holder does one at a time. I scan them both at 3200 DPI but in reality can scan a little lower with good results.

That would sure explain some of the marks you are getting when scanning! ;);););)

Blotchy areas on photos.

Your scanning process is still using a reflective light source that's scanning the neg as a document and picking up all the very slight marks you were leaving on the emulsion (by finger and the film against film), which your scanning process was exaggerating past recognition. I can't stress enough that ALL defects on negatives will be amplified if your process is not up to scratch. If you under-expose/under-develop you will struggle to get density in the scan and ANY attempt to retrieve it in the scanning process will only enhance slight marks/grain/uneven development.

Not a V600, it only has a light source big enough for medium format, it will not scan 5"x 4".