Some tips for total beginners (Geared towards P&S)

redtippmann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Well I'm my schools photographer, and for our paper everyone who works on the paper has to write a story for the months edition. I got assigned to write some photo tips for beginners. I don't know if this will help anyone here, but if one person learns something I guess it's worth it. And let me know what you think of it!

Many people do not realize that their own camera can take pictures that can come out like many professional cameras. Many, if not all, kids own or have used a digital camera. The most common is called a digital point and shoot. It got the name from the lack of knowledge needed to operate it. Because all you have to do it point the camera in the general direction and shoot.

While that may be fine for most people, there are some who want to get the most out of their camera. Now there are some limitations with a point and shoot but you can still take great images. Here are some tips on how to get the most out of your point and shoot camera.

If your camera has a zoom capability, use it! Zooming in is called going “telephoto”, the word comes from “telescope”. That is why the professionals use those long lenses. They try to capture the most action in the image, or frame, as possible. This way the person viewing the photo is immediately drawn to the action so they wont be wondering what to look for. A photographer once said, “I always thought good photos were like good jokes. If you have to explain it, it just isn't that good.” So by zooming in you wont have to explain what the photograph is about.