Sony A7sii - outdated soon?

danieldf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys. I'm new here and have a question. I'm a videographer and normally rent equipment, but have been considering purchasing a Sony A7sii to shoot a longer project. Since everyone here seems pretty experienced: Is it a poor idea to purchase a camera from 2015. Is it going to become outdated too soon when the next model come out, and therefore less appealing to clients? ThankS!

i dont recall every having a client that knew, or even cared, what equipment i used as long as they liked the finished product.
do you have many clients that compare your gear to the newest on the market?

Video is different from stills, in that a lot of times you are working with other camera ops where footage needs to be matched. And yes unlike a stills project, a videographer may get hired by a production company where they are looking to hire an owner/operator.

Pricing video is different than stills. I feel the big riff between old school videographers and the still photographers who are making the transition is the lack of understanding how video projects need to be priced. With video the videographer needs to rent the equipment to the client or production house. For example if I am asked to create ten employee head-shots (still photos) on a blank back drop. I am going to price my time, the licensing and the production costs. Maybe I’m able to bill for a roll of seamless paper. The established business practice is to provide a camera, lens, and proper lighting equipment.

With video the equipment list is much more extensive and can grow exponentially within a couple of script/directorial changes. So the standard practice pricing to film those ten employees changes and needs to incorporate pricing any equipment the project requires including the camera.