Sony Alpha A100 OR Rebel XTi OR Nikon D40x

Treymac

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.joejohnsonphotography.net
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. I'm new to photography and don't have my own camera yet, I've been using my dads Lumix FZ30. I'm trying to choose one of three cameras that I've been looking at, the Sony Alpha A100, Canon Digital Rebel XTi, and Nikon D40x. I've read many reviews and they all have similar specs and ratings. I'm really having a hard time deciding which would be the best of them. Any input from you guys would be great, Thanks.

Hey guys. I'm new to photography and don't have my own camera yet, I've been using my dads Lumix FZ30. I'm trying to choose one of three cameras that I've been looking at, the Sony Alpha A100, Canon Digital Rebel XTi, and Nikon D40x. I've read many reviews and they all have similar specs and ratings. I'm really having a hard time deciding which would be the best of them. Any input from you guys would be great, Thanks.
I would try them. Try to find people who have them or go into a store or whatever. I went with the xti because I already had a canon EF lens so there was just really no question for me. Since they are so similar I suggest you pick the one that feels best and you like the controls most on.

Each one has its own perks. Between the 3 however, you not gonna be unhappy with the image quality from anyone. The Sony has the in-camera anti-shake, which is nice so you don't have to fork out a ton of money to get one that has it built in the lens. And Sony is doing a beautiful job make lenses for the maxxum mount the A-100 uses.

The D40x i heard is incredibly easy to use with some fun built in camera adjustments. I wouldn't use these myself, but its there for those who like it. You can find just about anything for nikon cameras, but you can't get some of the older lenses to auto focus on that body, and you'd have to manual focus. That could be a problem for some.