Sony Cybershot DSC-HX9V vs Nikon D60

Jubbs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey, I'm not a photography pro, I am pretty much a casual. I love shooting photos for my college clubs and going to conventions and doing shoots there. For the past two years I have had a Nikon D60. I feel like it is time to upgrade, but to be honest, I am kind of cheap. My local pawn shop says that they would by my Nikon D60 for $300 (More than what I bought for...$260) and they have Sony Cybershot DSC-HX9V. Looks like a nice camera it is pretty mint. They are selling the sony for like $265 so this is something I am really interested in.

My question is how is the camera, I have seen mixed reviews but overall it is a 4 out of 5 camera. They say its a little sluggish and stuff but honestly will I notice it? So i guess this is a question of Nikon d60 vs Sony Cybershot DSC-HX9V, and also how the Sony camera is in general.

Going from a DSLR to a point and shoot is not an upgrade :S
I'm confused.

Its an upgrade for me. I dont need a professional DSLR. Also the D60 is old. I find it hard to believe that just because the camera is not a DSLR it is not better than a 4 year old camera.

Well what do you need to upgrade it for? What is it limiting you from doing?

The Sony HX9V is typical of some point and shoot cameras but better than most. It has a 16X zoom from roughly 24mm to 400mm depending on the mode you use, which makes it a very flexible pocket camera. It has excellent image quality at 16 megapixels at ISO 100. Most pocket cameras have picture noise in low light situations but this camera does better using twilight mode. Autofocus is excellent and it has better burst speed than most cameras at this level too. In camera panorama shots at 49 megapixels are great to experiment with, if you are travelling or want to get a large group of people in a shot. High dynamic range and in camera HDR open up more possibilities than with other pocket cameras as well.